St. Lucie County is Mobile & Social
St. Lucie County's Communications Division is always looking for ways to reach residents and visitors, whether it is through our websites, government access channel (SLCTV Comcast 28 / U-Verse 99), social media, mobile apps or traditional media outlets such as newspapers and television stations.
- My St. Lucie App (Records & Service Requests)
- Visit St. Lucie App (Visitor & Tourist Information)
- RouteShout (Treasure Coast Connector - Public Transit)
- Alert St. Lucie (Emergency Notification System)
- Sign up for phone calls, texts or emails at www.stlucieco.gov/alert
Extension Office Warns Robocalls Are On the Rise
The UF/IFAS St. Lucie County Extension staff warns residents that Robocalls are on the rise. But, there are ways to combat them.
Robocalls - those annoying unsolicited calls to your home phone or your mobile phone where you hear some cryptic recorded message designed to keep you on the line or make you call a number for more information. Phrases like “…notify you that you are being sued by the IRS…” or “…you have won a free weekend stay at…” seem real, but is it? How do you know? And, how do you make it stop!
The U.S. Federal Trade Commission (FTC) is reporting a significant increase in the number of illegal robocalls because internet-powered phone systems have made it cheap and easy for scammers to call from anywhere in the world and display fake caller ID information. The FTC has brought more than a hundred lawsuits against more than 600 companies and individuals responsible for billions of illegal robocalls and other Do Not Call violations, resulting in recovery of over $49 million in civil penalties.
You can reduce the number of unwanted sales calls you get by signing up for the National Do Not Call registry. Visit donotcall.gov or call 1-888-382-1222 to register your phone number – it is free and never expires. So is the Florida Do Not Call registry at fldnc.com, but why do you have to register for both? Joining the National Do Not Call registry does not prevent a same state-based business from contacting you, so the protection provided by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS) adds an extra layer of assurance for you and additional penalties for the caller.
If you are registered and still receive calls, you can file a complaint with the FTC (just go back to the donotcall.gov site to do it). They’ll need to know the phone number that called you and when you received the call. Violators face federal fines up to $40,654 per call. Penalties in Florida are up to $10,000 per violation!
However, if you don’t want to take the time to register and assert your consumer power, you can still make sure your unwanted calls don’t become more than just a minor nuisance. First thing to remember – hang up. Don’t interact in any way. Waiting, as the recording may suggest, to be connected to a live person or pressing buttons to “be removed from the call list” will probably lead to more unwanted calls. If you get repeated calls from the same number, see about blocking that number, but make sure you know if there is a fee for that. If the call comes from many different numbers, you may still have call blocking options, but again, check for fees and look for reviews from experts and other users.
For more information about the federal and state Do Not Call lists, visit the FTC at www.ftc.gov or FDACS at www.freshfromflorida.com/Consumer-Resources. Additional information about consumer topics are available from the UF/IFAS Extension St. Lucie Office, on the web at stlucie.ifas.ufl.edu or call 722-462-1660 to reach the Community Resource Development Agent.